WATCH: Amateur golfer suffers pain of double-hit attempting chip for bogey

Wilson

Double-hits are no longer punished the same way as before – but they are often punishment enough, as this golfer found out.

This golfer discovered that to his detriment.

His chip in hope of putting in for a bogey might have been on line if his follow through didn’t catch up with it.

Rule 10.1a now states, “If your club accidentally hits the ball more than once, there has been only one stroke and there is no penalty.”

“Accidental deflections are, by definition, an accident,” the USGA says. “The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player as often as it results in an advantage.”

This rule is consistent with the change made for balls accidentally deflected by part of the player’s body when the ball is in motion, which also now holds no penalty.

“Treating all accidental deflections the same no matter who or what caused them will simplify the Rules by providing consistency.”

Rule 10 covers how to prepare for and make a stroke, including advice and other help the player may get from others (including caddies). The underlying principle is that golf is a game of skill and personal challenge.

Rule 10.2b(3) does not allow a player to set down an object (such as an alignment rod or a golf club) to help the player take a stance.

However, this prohibition does not prevent a player from positioning their clubhead behind the ball, such as when a player stands behind the ball and places the clubhead perpendicular to the line of play and then, while still holding the club, walks around from behind the ball to take their stance.

Latest