Kuchar and Garcia clear the air in jokey video
Sergio Garcia and Matt Kuchar met up on Monday to clear the air after their controversial incident at the WGC-Match Play.
Perhaps mindful of the negative press they’d both been receiving, the duo decided to film a short clip showing that all was now well between them.
It followed the incident that marred their quarter-final clash in Austin on Saturday, when Garcia missed a par putt at the seventh hole and then quickly lipped out a tap-in before asking Kuchar to concede the putt.
Garcia then told Kuchar he could still concede the putt, but the American wasn’t feeling particularly generous and ended up taking the hole, which led to the Spaniard losing that famous temper of his.
But all’s well that ends well, and Garcia appears to not hold any ill-feelings over the incident, judging by the clip he shared of the two having a chat in a golf cart.
View this post on Instagram
It was nice to run into Matt Kuchar at Austin Golf Club today. A lot has been said about Saturday and most has been misconstrued. We’re all good here. Nothing but respect for each other and it’s time to move on. . . Ha estado bien encontrarme a Matt en el Club de Golf de Austin. Mucho se ha escrito y hablado sobre lo que ocurrió el sábado y la mayoría de ello ha sido malinterpretado. Hay mucho respeto mutuo y el tema está zanjado.
“What’s gone on with the aftermath is just incorrect, wrong and shouldn’t happen,” Kuchar said. “I want to tell you, Sergio handled the thing extremely well. When he missed the putt, we came off seven and he said, ‘You know what, I missed it. It’s your hole.’ I told him how bad I felt, didn’t feel right at all [and I] never want to win on a technicality.”
Kuchar also said that Garcia didn’t ask him to concede the next hole, as had been reported.
“I know I made a mistake on seven and, you know, didn’t give [Kuchar] time to say ‘that’s good,’ even though, obviously, we all know in our minds that it was good because it was a short putt,” Garcia said. “But at the end of the day, I made a mistake and he unfortunately didn’t know how to make up for what happened. But it’s all good. We’re all good.”
“It was a great match after all,” Garcia added. He played better than me and beat me, so it’s as simple as that.”
Injury rules Open champion Cameron Smith out of BMW Championship
The Australian world number two currently sits third in the FedEx Cup standings, 1,132 points behind leader Will Zalatoris.
Will Zalatoris triumphs in dramatic playoff to claim first PGA Tour win
The American defeated Austria’s Sepp Straka in three extra holes at TPC Southwind – despite not making a birdie.
Ewen Ferguson seals wire-to-wire victory at ISPS Handa World Invitational
The 26-year-old Scot also won the Qatar Masters in March.
New Ryder Cup captain Luke Donald motivated by ‘bitter’ memories of 2021 defeat
Stenson was stripped of the role for breaking his contract by joining the Saudi-backed LIV Golf series.
The task facing Luke Donald after replacing Henrik Stenson
Stenson was appointed on March 15 and said he was fully committed to a role before signing with the Saudi-backed LIV Golf series.
Tony Finau claims second straight PGA Tour victory
The American won the 3M Open in his previous outing.
Henrik Stenson cushions Ryder Cup blow with £3.6m debut win in LIV Golf
The Swede was stripped of his role as Europe captain after joining the Saudi-backed breakaway tour.
Former Masters champion Bubba Watson becomes latest player to join LIV Golf
The left-hander is currently sidelined by a knee injury and is not expected to play until next season,
Luke Donald tipped to replace Henrik Stenson as Europe’s Ryder Cup captain
The Swede lost the job 127 days after his appointment following his decision to join the LIV Golf series.