Westwood backs new slow play policy

News
Lee Westwood

An enforced shot clock will be trialled at the Austrian Open next year, and European Tour stalwart Lee Westwood has welcomed the move.

It will be the first time that such a move is tested to tackle slow play.

The Daily Mail reports that golfers will receive a penalty stroke if they take longer than 40 seconds over their shots, although they will receive an initial warning before being penalised. A player could potentially receive several penalty strokes if they continue to take too long to complete their shots.

A referee will be assigned to walk around the course with every group and time every shot.

It is hoped the new measure could help speed up a round by as much as 40 minutes.

If successful, the policy could be enforced across the professional game.

“The idea was floated at a players’ meeting on Tuesday night and it received unanimous support,” one official was quoted as saying.

Former World No 1 Westwood has welcomed the move, saying: “What a brilliant idea and long overdue.”

And Westwood’s Ryder Cup team-mate Andy Sullivan also voiced his approval.

“It underlines how long 40 seconds is to play a shot and how ridiculous it is that rounds take so long,” he said. “The sooner it’s introduced on tour, the better.”

Comments

Latest

  • US Open

    Johnson still confident of lifting title

    Dustin Johnson still believes he is in a strong position to win the US Open, despite seeing his four-shot advantage wiped out.

  • US Open

    Finau and Berger profit from struggling leaders

    Tony Finau and Daniel Berger made the… var VUUKLE_EMOTE_SIZE = ""; VUUKLE_EMOTE_IFRAME = "" var EMOTE_TEXT = ["HAPPY","INDIFFERENT","AMUSED","EXCITED","ANGRY","SAD"] var VUUKLE_CONFIG = { apiKey: "bc9fd4eb-d7be-4d00-87ef-b570563b015f", articleId: "38171", tags: "Daniel Berger, Dustin Johnson, Tony Finau", author: "Simon Wilkes", // Lang wordpressSync: true, eventHandler: function (e) { console.log(e); if (e.eventType == 'wpSync') { jQuery.ajax({ type: 'POST', data: { "action": "save_comment_to_db", "comment_post_ID": e.comment_post_ID, "comment_author": e.comment_author, "comment_author_email": e.comment_author_email, "comment_author_url": e.comment_author_url, "comment_content": e.comment_content, "comment_type": e.comment_type, "comment_parent": e.comment_parent, "user_id": e.user_id, "comment_author_IP": e.comment_author_IP, "comment_agent": e.comment_agent, "comment_approved": e.comment_approved, "comment_date": e.comment_date, "comment_date_gmt": e.comment_date_gmt, "comment_karma": e.comment_karma }, url: "/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php", beforeSend: function () { }, success: function (data) { } }); } }, // Articles - recommendations in emotes and comments widget recommendationsWideImages: false, recommendationsProtocol: "http", globalRecommendations: false, // Colors darkMode: false, color: "108ee9", // By Widget comments: { hideRecommendedArticles: false, hideCommentInputBox: false, enabled: true, commentingClosed: false, maxChars: '3000', countToLoad: '5', toxicityLimit: '80', transliteration:{ language: 'en', enabledByDefault: false, }, customText: {}, }, emotes: { enabled: false, hideRecommendedArticles: false, size: '70', // icons size firstImg: '', firstName: 'HAPPY', secondImg: '', secondName: 'INDIFFERENT', thirdImg: '', thirdName: 'AMUSED', fourthImg: '', fourthName: 'EXCITED', fifthImg: '', fifthName:'ANGRY', sixthImg: '', sixthName: 'SAD', disable: [], customText: {}, }, powerbar: { enabled: true, defaultEmote: 1, customUrls: { facebook: '', google: '', twitter: '', linkedin: '', }, customText: {}, }, }; (function () { var d = document, s = d.createElement('script'); s.async = true; s.src = 'https://cdn.vuukle.com/platform.js'; (d.head || d.body).appendChild(s); })();

    Simon Wilkes
  • LPGA Tour

    Nordqvist and Pace surge into co-lead

    Anna Nordqvist and Lee-Anne Pace produced almost carbon copy rounds at the Meijer LPGA Classic to create a two-shot lead at the top of the leaderboard.

  • US Open

    Frustrated Mickelson explains decision to hit moving ball

    Phil Mickelson’s decision to deliberately hit a moving ball and incur a two-shot penalty??at the US Open on Saturday had everyone shaking their heads.

  • US Open

    Rory McIlroy: This year’s US Open has been a write-off

    After missing the cut at Shinnecock Hills on Friday, Rory McIlroy would just like to put his miserable US Open experience behind him.

  • US Open

    Rose and Poulter remain positive despite late US Open stumbles

    Justin Rose and Ian Poulter vowed to remain positive going into the weekend at the US Open despite trailing Dustin Johnson by five shots.

  • US Open

    Tiger Woods unhappy after missing US Open cut

    Tiger Woods missed the cut for only the third time at the US Open after enduring another miserable day at Shinnecock Hills.

  • US Open

    Dustin Johnson earns four-shot lead at Shinnecock Hills

    Dustin Johnson moved four shots clear at the US Open after challenger Ian Poulter fell away with a dreadful finish to his round.

  • US Open

    Tommy Fleetwood soars after posting lowest US Open round

    Tommy Fleetwood made a big surge up the leaderboard at the US Open after producing the lowest round of the tournament so far.

  • LPGA Tour

    So Yeon Ryu on course for first win of season

    So Yeon Ryu proved to be the master of the par fives at the Meijer LPGA Classic to create a slender lead in Michigan.