WATCH: Jordan Spieth hits one onto clubhouse roof in Houston

Jordan Spieth

Tracking Jordan Spieth will take you through the gambit of golfing experiences from the sublime to the utterly ridiculous.

TPC San Antonio’s 18th hole, a 618-yard par-5 with no OBs left room for Spieth to find himself on a cross-country trip.

Instead of taking the lick and getting back to civilization, Spieth elected to play a spot of hero ball.

At this point, he was five under for the tournament, eight behind Akshay Bhatia, and two under for his round.

He expected an aggressive play to boost his cause, but it backfired. Spieth’s second shot on the 18th had ricocheted off a branch, drifted left, and landed near a drain in the penalty area. But then Spieth decided to do something wild.

Instead of seeking relief, Spieth purposefully hammered his third ball onto the roof of the TPC San Antonio clubhouse. His ball exquisitely trickled down the roof, landing in the gutter. While Spieth might not have enjoyed it the experience was quite something for the viewers.

Spieth could take advantage of the clubhouse because there were no white stakes indicating it was out of bounds. Spieth was aware of this and was trying to hit the roof to get free relief. As a result, PGA Tour officials granted Spieth a free drop well into the field of play.

Spieth then took his relief 124 yards from the pin and hit his fourth ball high and onto the green. But, regrettably, Spieth three-putted, resulting in a double-bogey seven and an even-par 72 for the round.

He started the day with back-to-back bogeys but battled hard to erase them with birdies on the sixth, seventh, 12th, and 17th holes.

By the time he emerged at the 18th tee, one may have expected Spieth to finish with a par or birdie, considering that the closing hole at TPC San Antonio is one of the simplest on the course.

However, Spieth has been struggling for form this season.

Spieth finished third at the Sentry to start the campaign, but things went pear-shaped at the Genesis where he signed for an incorrect scorecard and was disqualified.

“Today, I signed for an incorrect scorecard and stepped out of the scoring area, after thinking I went through all procedures to make sure it was correct,” Spieth wrote on X.

“Rules are rules, and I take full responsibility. I love this tournament and golf course as much as any on @PGATOUR so it hurts to not have a run at the weekend. Really appreciated the support in LA.”

Spieth then missed back-to-back cuts at the Players and Valspar Championships.

Despite his indifferent form, Spieth is currently among the top 10 players fancied for the Masters title by the bookies.

Latest