Volvo Champions boasts stellar field

A stellar field has been confirmed for next year’s Volvo Golf Champions, which takes place at the Durban Country Club from the January 9-12.

Eight South Africans and several established European players will compete at the The European Tour’s ‘Tournament of Champions’, including Alfred Dunhill Championship winner Charl Schwartzel, six-time European Tour champion Richard Sterne, four-time major winner Ernie Els, former Open champion Louis Oosthuizen as well as 2012 winner Branden Grace.

“I am excited to open my season in front of my home fans and to be competing against such a strong field of champions,” Schwartzel said after the field was confirmed on Monday.

“It is pretty impressive to have so many South Africans qualifying and with the two past winners also being South African, it is definitely a title I would love to win.”

With Ryder Cup places up for grabs, the participating European contingent will eager to state their case, with the likes of Paul Casey, the 2011 Volvo Golf Champions winner, the popular Miguel Ángel Jiménez, Nedbank Golf Challenge winner Thomas Björn, rising star Matteo Manassero and Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year Peter Uihlein all in with a chance.

The 2014 player field and their means of qualification:

2013 European Tour winners

Thomas Aiken – Avantha Masters
Kiradech Aphibarnrat – Maybank Malaysian Open
Thomas Björn – Omega European Masters
Gregory Bourdy ISPS Handa Wales Open
Paul Casey – Irish Open
Jamie Donaldson – Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship
Victor Dubuisson – Turkish Airlines Open
Ernie Els – BMW International Open
Gonzalo Fdez-Castaño – BMW Masters
Darren Fichardt Africa Open
Tommy Fleetwood – Johnnie Walker Championship
Stephen Gallacher – Omega Dubai Desert Classic
Michael Hoey – M2M Russian Open
David Howell – Alfred Dunhill Links Championship
Mikko Ilonen – Nordea Masters
Raphael Jacquelin – Open de Espana
Jin Jeong – Perth International
Joost Luiten – Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity
David Lynn – Portugal Masters
Matteo Manassero – BMW PGA Championship
Louis Oosthuizen – Volvo Golf Champions
Morten Ørum Madsen – South African Open
Julien Quesne – Lindt Italian Open
Brett Rumford – Ballantine’s Championship
Charl Schwartzel – Alfred Dunhill Championship
Marcel Siem – Trophee Hassan II
Richard Sterne – Joburg Open
Simon Thornton – Open Najeti Hotels and Golf, St Omer
Peter Uihlein – Madeira Islands Open
Dawie Van Der Walt – Tshwane Open
Chris Wood – Commercialbank Qatar Masters

Past winner of the Volvo Golf Champions
Branden Grace

Players with 10 or more official Race to Dubai/European Tour Order of Merit tournament wins
Darren Clarke
Padraig Harrington
Miguel Angel Jiménez
Robert Karlsson
Colin Montgomerie
José Maria Olazabal