US win Presidents Cup

The US Team won the Presidents Cup golf event 15.5-14.5 after having to hold off a strong challenge from the International Team on Sunday in Incheon, South Korea.

The competition came down to the last match of the day with South Korea's Sangmoon Bae against Bill Haas – and the final hole, which Haas won thanks to a botched chip shot by his opponent on a cold, rainy day in Incheon

The US have now won nine of 11 Presidents Cup clashes.

Australian golfers Adam Scott, Steven Bowditch and Marc Leishman won their singles matches for the International Team having struggled in the previous three days.

The Leishman 1-up victory against world No.1 Jordan Spieth looked like it could kick-start a charge by the Internationals and they came mighty close to winning. 

But Bae was unable to hold off Haas in the final match, with the American claiming a 2-up triumph.

All Sunday's results:
Adam Scott (INT) def. Rickie Fowler (US), 6&5

Phil Mickelson (US) def. Charl Schwartzel (INT), 5&4

Patrick Reed (US) and Louis Oosthuizen (INT) halved

Dustin Johnson (US) def. Danny Lee (INT), 2&1

Hideki Matsuyama (INT) def. J.B. Holmes (US), 1-up

Bubba Watson (US) and Thongchai Jaidee (INT) halved

Steven Bowditch (INT) def. Jimmy Walker (US), 2-up

Chris Kirk (US) def. Anirban Lahiri (INT), 1-up

Zach Johnson (US) def. Jason Day (INT), 3&2

Marc Leishman (INT) def. Jordan Spieth (US), 1-up

Branden Grace (INT) def. Matt Kuchar (US), 2&1

Bill Haas (US) def. Sangmoon Bae (INT), 2-up