Trio honoured for stellar 2014

Rory McIlroy, Bernhard Langer and Stacy Lewis were named as the 2014 players of the year by the Golf Writers Association of America.

All three players earned the number one spot in the rankings in their respective divisions, with McIlroy and Lewis doing so for the second year in three. Langer won the senior honour for the first time in 2010.

McIlroy received 94 percent of the votes after a stellar season which included two major titles.

“Truly a great honor for me,” the 25-year-old McIlroy said in a statement to the press.

“This award is testimony to my best year as a professional golfer and something I can aim toward winning again as I go into next season.”

Lewis received 57 percent of the votes and finished well ahead of Lydia Ko and Michelle Wie.

The world’s best female player won three times during 2014, finished first in the Player of the Year standings, led the moneylist and won the scoring crown.

“It is tough to win one, let alone all three,” Lewis stated

“It’s an honor to be recognized by the GWAA Player of the Year for the second time.”

They will receive their rewards at the annual GWAA awards dinner on April 8.