Trio accept PGA Tour membership

Branden Grace, Cameron Smith and Shane Lowry have accepted special temporary membership for the remainder of the PGA Tour season.

The trio all got the nod after their strong showings at this month’s US Open.

South African Grace and Australian Smith finished tied fourth at Chambers Bay, while Lowry finished tied-ninth alongside World No 1 Rory McIlroy.

They accumulated more FedExCup points for their performances than the total of the player who qualified at No. 150 on last year’s list.

Each is free to play on unlimited sponsor exemptions for the remainder of the tour season as they attempt to earn 2015-16 PGA Tour cards through the non-member money list or non-member FedExCup points list.

Patrick Rodgers of the United States and Danny Willett of England also became special temporary members earlier this year.