The Masters: Who’s in and who’s out

While a whole host of players have already secured a place in the exclusive Masters field, many are still on the cusp hoping to secure a spot.

Unfortunately, only one spot remains available, and the only way to get it is to win this weekend’s Valero Texas Open.

Most of the players who have already booked their ticket to Augusta are sitting this weekend out, but there are 17 players in the field who would end up spoiling the party for the Masters hopefuls should they win, including Rickie Fowler and Matt Kuchar.

As for the Masters hopefuls, Graeme McDowell will be heading to Texas fresh from his first win since 2015 at last week’s Corales Puntacana Resort and Club Championship. Unfortunately for G-Mac, the win did not secure him a Masters spot, due to it being an opposite field event.

Jim Furyk has been in great form over the last few weeks, finishing runner-up to Rory McIlroy at the Players Championship, but all his efforts have only lifted him to 52nd in the world, and only the top 50 are guaranteed a Masters spot.

Two-time Masters runner-up Ernie Els, former US Open champion Lucas Glover and three-time major champion Padraig Harrington are also all chasing a place, as is Luke Donald.

World No 54 Byeong Hun An will also be hoping to come out on top in Texas, while Andrew Putnam (World No 55), Sungjae Im (World No 57) and Abraham Ancer (World No 58) are the next three highest-ranked players not in the Augusta field.

Those are some of the players chasing that elusive final spot, but who has already secured their place in the Augusta field.

Here are the 86 players who have already booked their tickets to Georgia.

Players in alphabetical order; USA unless stated; *denotes amateurs

Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha)
Lucas Bjerregaard (Den)
Devon Bling*
Keegan Bradley
Angel Cabrera (Arg)
Rafa Cabrera Bello (Esp)
Patrick Cantlay
Paul Casey (Eng)
Stewart Cink
Fred Couples
Jason Day (Aus)
Bryson DeChambeau
Tony Finau
Matt Fitzpatrick (Eng)
Tommy Fleetwood (Eng)
Rickie Fowler
Sergio Garcia (Esp)
Branden Grace (Rsa)
Emiliano Grillo (Arg)
Justin Harding (Rsa)
Tyrrell Hatton (Eng)
Charley Hoffman
JB Holmes
Billy Horschel
Viktor Hovland* (Nor)
Charles Howell III
Shugo Imahira (Jpn)
Trevor Immelman (Rsa)
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Takumi Kanaya (Jpn)
Martin Kaymer (Ger)
Michael Kim
Si Woo Kim (Kor)
Kevin Kisner
Patton Kizzire
Satoshi Kodaira (Jpn)
Brooks Koepka
Matt Kuchar
Andrew Landry
Bernhard Langer (Ger)
Marc Leishman (Aus)
Haotong Li (Chn)
Adam Long
Shane Lowry (Irl)
Sandy Lyle (Sco)
Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn)
Rory McIlroy (NIR)
Phil Mickelson
Keith Mitchell
Larry Mize
Francesco Molinari (Ita)
Kevin Na
Alex Noren (Swe)
Kevin O’Connell*
Jose Maria Olazabal (Esp)
Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)
Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa)
Alvaro Ortiz* (Mex)
Eddie Pepperell (Eng)
Ian Poulter (Eng)
Jon Rahm (Esp)
Jovan Rebula* (Rsa)
Patrick Reed
Justin Rose (Eng)
Xander Schauffele
Charl Schwartzel (Rsa)
Adam Scott (Aus)
Webb Simpson
Vijay Singh (Fij)
Cameron Smith (Aus)
Brandt Snedeker
Jordan Spieth
Kyle Stanley
Kevin Tway
Jimmy Walker
Matt Wallace (Eng)
Bubba Watson
Mike Weir (Can)
Danny Willett (Eng)
Aaron Wise
Gary Woodland
Tiger Woods
Ian Woosnam (Wal)