Swapping Euro for points

The Race to Dubai has a slight change in setup as players will now earn points instead of Euro for the 2015 season.

Starting at this weekend’s Nedbank Golf Challenge at Sun City, for each Euro earned on the European Tour the players will get one point.

Then for the Finals Series, which includes the BMW Masters, WGC – HSBC Champions, the Turkish Airlines Open and the DP World Tour Championship events, an enhanced points system will be applied.

CEO of the European Tour, Keith Waters, explained further.

“Following the success of The 2014 Race to Dubai, won by Rory McIlroy for the second time in three years after a superb season, The European Tour has decided to implement a points system for the duration of the 2015 campaign,” revealed waters on europeantour.com.

“We believe that changing to a points system will help simplify and indeed enhance the narrative structure of The Race to Dubai, and particularly the Final Series which will again carry a combined 40million points, with 1,666,600 points on offer to the winner of each event.

“The conversion to a points system will complement an exciting and robust schedule in 2015, which will feature a minimum of 47 tournaments, including the addition of five new events.”