R&A and USGA promise to clarify new rule on caddies aligning players
The R&A and USGA have announced they will provide “necessary clarifications” to the new rule prohibiting caddies from helping players with alignment.
The two-shot penalties handed out to Li Haotong in Dubai and Denny McCarthy in Phoenix were subject to widespread criticism in the press and on social media from fans and players alike.
Many are of the opinion that the interpretation of the rule, which came into effect on January 1, needs to be clarified so that players can be absolutely certain when they are transgressing it.
I’m going to have to sit down and read the golf rule book this weekend. I don’t know the rules anymore! I still have to get the little white ball into the little white hole right???
— Lee Westwood (@WestwoodLee) 2 February 2019
On paper, the new rule states that caddies cannot stand directly behind their players “when a player begins taking a stance for the stroke and until the stroke is made”. A player can avoid a penalty by backing away and starting their shot process again, unless they are on the green.
In Li’s case, he was given a two-shot penalty in Dubai last week when he began to take his stance over a short birdie putt just before his caddie moved to one side.
Over on the PGA Tour last week, McCarthy was also hit with a two-shot deduction after his caddie was seen standing behind him as he went through his practice swings.
His punishment was rescinded a day later after consultations with the games governing bodies, however, after it was decided he had taken a stance only for his practice routine rather than the actual shot.
— Justin Thomas (@JustinThomas34) February 2, 2019
Following all this drama, the R&A and USGA released a joint-statement announcing that the description of the rule will be altered and made clearer for officials to determine when to impose a penalty.
The statement read: “Following an ongoing dialogue with players and in co-operation with the PGA TOUR rules team, The R&A and the USGA revisited the penalty assessed to Denny McCarthy during round two of the Waste Management Phoenix Open.
“After an additional review of available video, it was determined that the penalty would not apply in this instance nor in a similar instance involving Justin Thomas.
“In each of these cases, when the caddie was standing behind the player, the player had not yet begun taking the stance for the stroke, nor could useful guidance on aiming be given because the player was still in the process of determining how to play the stroke. The same would be true for any similar situation that might occur.
“The R&A and the USGA recognise that clarity on how to appropriately apply this Rule is needed. We are committed to assessing its impact and will provide the necessary clarifications in the coming days.”
New Ryder Cup captain Luke Donald motivated by ‘bitter’ memories of 2021 defeat
Stenson was stripped of the role for breaking his contract by joining the Saudi-backed LIV Golf series.
The task facing Luke Donald after replacing Henrik Stenson
Stenson was appointed on March 15 and said he was fully committed to a role before signing with the Saudi-backed LIV Golf series.
Tony Finau claims second straight PGA Tour victory
The American won the 3M Open in his previous outing.
Henrik Stenson cushions Ryder Cup blow with £3.6m debut win in LIV Golf
The Swede was stripped of his role as Europe captain after joining the Saudi-backed breakaway tour.
Former Masters champion Bubba Watson becomes latest player to join LIV Golf
The left-hander is currently sidelined by a knee injury and is not expected to play until next season,
Luke Donald tipped to replace Henrik Stenson as Europe’s Ryder Cup captain
The Swede lost the job 127 days after his appointment following his decision to join the LIV Golf series.
Max Homa: Tiger Woods now understands the respect he commands from his peers
Homa has made no secret of his admiration for Woods.
Bernard Gallacher fears Greg Norman is not the man for compromise with LIV Golf
Players who have resigned from the PGA Tour to join LIV Golf will not be eligible for next year’s Ryder Cup.
Brooke Henderson takes two-shot lead into final round of Evian Championship
South Korea’s Ryu So-yeon climbed into outright second place on 15 under.