Presidents Cup ready to add to rich history

As the 2019 edition of the Presidents Cup nears, opportunity knocks to recall the tournament’s historic timeline since the turn of the century.

From the United States team, which will be captained by Tiger Woods, to the international team, which will have Ernie Els as their leader, the 2019 Presidents Cup is sure to be a cracker.

A quick look around the player roster reveals several golfers likely to tip the markets, including Dustin Johnson and Justin Thomas among the odds-on favourites. With the US backed at 2/5 and the internationals 11/4, oddschecker and others are also tipping a draw at 14/1.


For the first time in the event’s history, three former U.S. Presidents and the current U.S. President were on site for the 2017 Presidents Cup, held at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey. The International team welcomed Captain Nick Price back for a third term, while the U.S. team was led by Steve Stricker. Following the four-day competition on the banks of the Hudson River, the U.S. team claimed victory with a 19-11 margin.


The 2015 Presidents Cup was contested in Songdo, IBD, Incheon City, South Korea, at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea. The U.S. Team was led by Jay Haas and at the helm of the International Team was two-time captain Nick Price. The U.S. Team clinched the final point on the final hole to win 15.5 to 14.5. The Honorary Chairwoman of the event was Korean President Park Guen-Hye.


The 2013 Presidents Cup welcomed the 44th U.S. President Barack Obama as Honorary Chairman of the event for a second time, the only world leader to hold that distinction more than once. The event teed off at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Columbus, Ohio, USA. Fred Couples and Nick Price assumed captains’ duties for the U.S. Team and the International Team, respectively. In the end, it was the U.S. Team’s cup to keep after a decisive 18.5-15.5 victory.


The 2011 Presidents Cup descended upon Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, for the second time in the event’s history, pitting Greg Norman’s International Team against Fred Couples’ U.S. Team. Prime Minister of Australia Julia Gillard served as the Honorary Chairwoman, marking the first time in event history a woman held the role. The U.S. Team retained the cup with a 19-15 decision.

Punters would be happy to know that odds are available for the Presidents Cup always, which offers chances to get the latest offers from UK bookies here.


The 2009 Presidents Cup showcased an International Team led by Greg Norman and U.S. Team led by Fred Couples for the first time. The cup was contested at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California, USA, and welcomed the 44th President of the United States, Barack Obama as the Honorary Chairman. The U.S. Team etched its name on the cup with a 19.5-14.5 score.


The 2007 Presidents Cup marked the third and final time legendary captains Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player would lead the U.S. and International Teams, respectively. The Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper served as the Honorary Chairman for the event held in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, at The Royal Montreal Golf Club. In the end, the United States would retain the cup after a 19.5-14.5 score.


The 2005 Presidents Cup crowned a Jack Nicklaus-led United States Team champions with an 18.5-15.5 decision over a Gary Player-led International Team. Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA, hosted the event for the fourth time in the competition’s history and the 43rd President of the United States, George W. Bush, acted as the Honorary Chairman.


The 2003 Presidents Cup ventured to George, South Africa, for the first time, fittingly, as the nation is home to Gary Player, who led the International Team for the first time that year in a contest against Jack Nicklaus’ United States Team. The host venue, The Links at Fancourt Hotel and Country Club Estate, saw the first tie in Presidents Cup history, and the Republic of South Africa President Thabo Mbeki served as the Honorary Chairman.