Presidents Cup delight for Asian duo

India's Anirban Lahiri and Thongchai Jaidee of Thailand have secured their places in the International team that will do battle at the Presidents Cup in South Korea in October.

The ten players who have qualified automatically for both the International and United States teams were confirmed following the conclusion of the Deutsche Bank Championship on Monday. Captains Nick Price and Jay Haas will complete the 12-man squads with their captain's picks which will be confirmed on Tuesday.

Lahiri and Jaidee will both be making their debuts at the event, and the excitement is certainly already building for Lahiri, who was the seventh-highest qualifier.

"I can’t describe my feelings right now," Lahiri told the Associated Press.

"Growing up, you look up to events like the Ryder Cup and feel terrible about it as you can’t be a part of something like that.

"But thankfully, we have The Presidents Cup for us to aim for, and it is such an achievement to make the team.

"This will be a massive boost for golf in India and the region as a whole."

Jaidee, who will be Thailand's first representative at the competition, echoed Lahiri's sentiments.

"I think I can help the other young Asian players. When they see that I can get onto the team, then they too will aim for it," said the 45-year-old.

Japan ace Hideki Matsuyama, who qualified as third on the standings, rounds out the Asian contingent at the event that will take place at the Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon, South Korea from October 8-11.

Australians Jason Day and Adam Scott head an International team that includes their compatriot, Marc Leishman, South Africans Louis Oosthuizen , Branden Grace and Charl Schwartzel, and Danny Lee of New Zealand who is the third debutant in the team.

For the United States, Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson, Jim Furyk, Rickie Fowler, Patrick Reed, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, and Chris Kirk have qualified.