Piercy, Barnes lead Barbasol Classic

Scott Piercy and Ricky Barnes will take a one shot lead into the final round of the PGA Tour Barbasol Classic on Sunday after both shot 65’s in Saturday’s third round.

The American were paired for round three, along with seven others, after finishing Friday’s second round on seven-under.

They went on to card scores of six-under to take their totals to 13-under and grab a share of the lead. Barnes told the PGA Tour website that playing with a direct rival has been positive so far.

“We were both hitting solid shots, giving ourselves good looks. And we both got off to a great start, we both holed about an 18 , 20 footer on the first hole,” he said.

“So we saw balls going in the hole, saw good shots, not so much competing but kind of feeding off each other.”

Barnes, who played the RTJ Trail course in the 2000 NCAAA Championship, was happy with his performance in round three.

“I hit a lot of shots pin high and out here that’s huge when you get in the good sections,” he said.

“So distance control and the ball in the fairway is huge out here and you’re going to have a lot of good looks and some straight putts from those sections of the greens.”

He opened with birdies on the first two holes, added a bogey on four and another birdie on five, closed out the front nine with four pars and shot four more birdies after the turn.

Piercy shot four birdies on his first five holes and added three more and a bogey on the back nine.

Trailing the leaders on 12-under and tied for third are Will Willcox, Jason Gore, Emiliano Grillo, Whee Kim and Mark Hensby.

Piercey, 36, believes his two PGA Tour titles give him an advantage over Barnes and the chasing pack.

“I’ve won a couple of times where I think a couple of the guys that are up there haven’t won yet,” he said.

“I think what’s probably a bigger advantage is that I’ve gotten it done a couple of times. Not worried about locking up my card this week or stuff like that is another advantage.”

Tied for eighth and trialing on 10-under are Vaughn Taylor, Robby Shelton, Johnson Wagner and Sam Saunders.