PGAA names Ryder Cup task force

The PGA of America has announced that an 11-man task force has been created in order to examine the entire Ryder Cup process in the US.

The task force will be co-chaired by PGA Vice President Derek Sprague and PGA Chief Executive Officer Pete Bevacqua.

Some aspects which the task force will investigate include the selection of United States Ryder Cup captains, the dates by which the team is selected, the date of the selection of both the captain and vice captains, as well as the Ryder Cup points system.

“The Ryder Cup is our most prized competitive asset, and the PGA of America is committed to utilizing our utmost energy and resources to support one of the biggest events in all of sport,” said PGA of America President Ted Bishop.

“The Ryder Cup Task Force, co-chaired by Derek Sprague and Pete Bevacqua, is an exciting and comprehensive initiative that will guide the PGA in developing the right strategy and building ongoing processes and infrastructure for future generations of U.S Teams.”

The other members of the task force include former captains Raymond Floyd, Tom Lehman and Davis Love III as well as past team members Fowler, Jim Furyk, Phil Mickelson, Steve Stricker and Tiger Woods, and PGA Secretary Paul Levy.

“I think this is a great step by the PGA to accomplish what we all want – to win The Ryder Cup,” said Woods, a veteran of seven Ryder Cups.

“The Ryder Cup is very important to every player who has the honor to represent his country. I’m excited to be part of this group.”

Since its inception in 1927 the US leads the Ryder Cup standings 25-13-2, but have lost eight of the last 10.

The 41st Ryder Cup will be contested at Hazeltine National Golf Club in September 2016.