Pettersen: I did nothing wrong
Suzann Pettersen has defended her decision not to concede Alison Lee during Sunday's Solheim Cup action when the rookie picked up her ball after incorrectly thinking her putt had been conceded.
A furore erupted at the 17th hole of the fourballs match featuring Europe's Pettersen and Charley Hull, and the United States' Alison Lee and Brittany Lincicome.
After missing an eight-foot birdie putt, Lee picked up her ball as she thought her 18-inch par putt had been conceded as she believed that Hull had begun to walk to the next hole and that she had heard someone concede the putt.
However, Pettersen said that they had not conceded the putt and after discussions with the officials, Europe were awarded the hole to go one-up. A Hull birdie at the 18th would ensure that Europe won the match and valuable point.
Lee, a Solheim Cup rookie, and Hull broke down in tears at the conclusion of the match, and Pettersen has come under heavy criticism for her actions, but the 34-year-old was adamant that she played by the rules.
"We are all trying to win, to play golf," she told reporters. "I totally respect the Americans. We totally respect the game. At that point of time in the match, with the putt she had left, I would still like to see it. If she had the putt to win the cup, I would still like to see it."
The Norwegian added that she would do the same thing again if the situation presented itself.
"Totally," she asserted. "It was very clear from Charley and me that we wanted to see the putt (holed).
"I've never been more quiet in my life after seeing her first putt. We didn't say a word and, unfortunately, she picked up."
It was initially thought that Hull had begun to walk towards the 18th hole when Lee went to pick up her ball, but the Englishwomen insists that this was not the case.
"I was walking over to Suzann to discuss whether or not to give the putt and then I turned around and Alison picked up," said Hull.
"A few people are saying I was walking off the green. If they watch again, I was talking to Suzann."
Despite this, USA captain Juli Inkster was less than impressed with the way Pettersen handled the situation and said that she will never be able to justify her actions.
"I have never seen anything like it in my career," she said. "It's just not right. You just don't do that to your peers. It's disrespectful.
"I saw Charley walking off and Suzann kind of turned her back and then Suzann said she did not give it to her (Lee). It was even anyway, they could have won the 18th hole, we could have halved. It's just BS [b*******] as far as I'm concerned.
"I thought it was a great week for women's golf and to have put a dampener on that, you could never justify that."
European captain Carin Koch admitted that the situation was unfortunate but stood by the decision.
“You feel bad when someone makes the mistake,” Koch said. “We had a rules meeting early in the week where they clearly told us how important it is to make sure that someone has conceded the putt. And no one did. It's clear in the TV screen, it's clear to everybody.
"You feel bad, of course, you don't want to win a hole because someone makes a mistake. It wasn't a short enough putt where they would have even given it. We have to follow the rules of golf.”
The Americans went on to stage a fierce comeback in the singles, regaining the Cup after winning 14.5-13.5, having trailed 10-6.
Collin Morikawa wins Race to Dubai as Rory McIlroy’s frustrations boil over
The Northern Irishman appeared to rip his shirt open in the recording area behind the 18th green.
Tiger Woods shares footage of him hitting balls as rehab continues
Woods was injured in a car accident in February.
Rory McIlroy takes one-shot lead into final round in Dubai after shooting a 67
England’s Sam Horsfield is just a shot off the lead, one ahead of Scot Robert MacIntyre.
Double bogey on final hole sees Rory McIlroy slip shot off the pace in Dubai
The round one leader is a shot behind Ryder Cup team-mate Shane Lowry, England’s Sam Horsfield and American John Catlin.
I’m on the right path – Rory McIlroy excited about road to next majors challenge
McIlroy is now a combined 148 under par in the £6.6million season-ending DP World Tour Championship.
Open champion Collin Morikawa determined to take chances in Race to Dubai bid
Morikawa had the chance to top the Order of Merit by winning last year’s DP World Tour Championship.
Rory McIlroy unlikely to change schedule despite new-look European Tour
The European Tour will be known as the DP World Tour from the 2022 season but Florida-based McIlroy will continue to focus on the PGA Tour.
Punter’s pointers at the DP World Tour Championship: Course and desert specialists to the fore
It’s the final week of the 2021 European Tour season and the best 50 players of the season are convening at Jumeirah’s Earth Course.
JB Hansen wins AVIV Dubai Championship to claim second European Tour title
The Dane finished a shot clear of Italy’s Francesco Laporta and Austria’s Bernd Wiesberger.