Open venues confirmed until 2018

The Open Championship will be held at Royal Birkdale in 2017 and Carnoustie in 2018, it was confirmed in on Wednesday.

The previous time Birkdale hosted the season’s third major was in 2008, when Padraig Harrington won his second consecutive Open title having won at Carmoustie the year before.

This year’s tournament starts at Royal Liverpool on July 17, before moving to Scotland’s St Andrews course in 2015, and Royal Troon in 2016.

The 2017 event at the Southport course will start on July 20, while the 2018 event will tee off on July 19.

Carnousty made its debut as a venue for the Open Championship for the first time in its history in 1999, when Paul Lawrie won the title in a play-off after Jean van de Velde’s famous triple bogey at the last hole.