Open Championship groupings and tee times revealed

Rory McIlroy in Canada

Home favourite Rory McIlroy will tee off with Paul Casey and Gary Woodland at the 148th Open Championship this week.

The Northern Irishamman returns to Royal Portrush, where he broke the course record with a 61 when he was just 16. Another Northern Irishman, Darren Clarke, will have the honour of being the first player to tee off bright and early on Thursday morning. He is joined by amateur James Surge and four time PGA Tour winner Charley Hoffman.

Other notable groups include Tiger Woods, who is paired with Ryder Cup teammate Patrick Reed and Matthew Wallace. Reigning Champion Golfer of the Year Francesco Molinari will set fourth down the first with Australian Adam Scott and resident physicist Bryson DeChamnbeau.

Finally, world number one Brooks Koepka, who is yet to really shine on a links course, pairs with Indian star Shabhankar Sharma and 2010 Open champion Louis Oosthuizen.

Selected Thursday local tee times:
6.35am – Darren Clarke, James Sugrue (A), Charley Hoffman
7.30am – Padraig Harrington, Matt Fitzpatrick, Andrew Putnam
7.52am – Phil Mickelson, Shane Lowry, Branden Grace
9.14am – Henrik Stenson, Xander Schauffele, Graeme McDowell
9.58am – Francesco Molinari, Adam Scott, Bryson DeChambeau
10.09am – Rory McIlroy, Paul Casey, Gary Woodland
10.20am – Hideki Matsuyama, Rickie Fowler, Kevin Kisner
12.53pm – Tommy Fleetwood, Justin Thomas, Thorbjorn Olesen
1.04pm – Brooks Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Shubhankar Sharma
1.26pm – Jordan Spieth, Marc Leishman, Danny Willett
2.48pm – Tony Finau, Lucas Bjerregaard, Justin Rose
2.59pm – Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley
3.10pm – Tiger Woods, Matthew Wallace, Patrick Reed
3.21pm – Jon Rahm, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Cantlay