Lexi Thompson loses ANA playoff
Lexi Thompson lost the ANA Inspiration title to South Korea’s So Yeon Ryu in a playoff in dramatic fashion Sunday after being controversially docked four strokes after a TV viewer called in a penalty.
Ryu birdied the first extra hole to take the win, but the post-tournament discussion will be about what happened with the penalty.
Thompson, 22, was seemingly cruising to victory in the first major of the year at the Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California, but then was sensationally handed a 4-stroke penalty that cost her the win.
Seeking her second major championship, Thompson held a three-stroke lead over Suzann Pettersen with six holes to go. She was unaware, however, that the LPGA had received a message from a television viewer informing them of a potential violation of the rules during Saturday’s third round.
TV footage showed that Thompson had incorrectly replaced her ball for a short putt on the 17th. LPGA rules officials ruled after lengthy deliberation that she be handed one two-stroke penalty for not playing the ball from the correct spot, and another for signing an incorrect scorecard.
Thompson then bogeyed the 12th hole, just as she was informed of the penalty. That meant a five-shot swing that saw her three-stroke lead vanish, dropping her back to a two-stroke deficit with just six holes to play.
When Thompson was informed of the penalties, she responded, “is this a joke?”
“Whatever. That’s just ridiculous,” she could be heard saying.
Ryu, playing ahead of Thompson, made birdie on the final hole to finish with a 68 and a clubhouse total of 14 under, one stroke ahead of Thompson, who was now on the 16th.
She was trailing by one stroke as she approached the 18th green, the crowd chanted her name as she gave some of them high-fives.
Thompson was still visibly upset by the events and was seen wiping away tears.
Nevertheless, she was able to grab a birdie, after narrowly missing an eagle putt, and tie with So Yeon Ryu to force a sudden-death playoff.
But it was to end in disappointment as Ryu birdied the first hole while Thompson’s 25-foot attempt came up short.
New Ryder Cup captain Luke Donald motivated by ‘bitter’ memories of 2021 defeat
Stenson was stripped of the role for breaking his contract by joining the Saudi-backed LIV Golf series.
The task facing Luke Donald after replacing Henrik Stenson
Stenson was appointed on March 15 and said he was fully committed to a role before signing with the Saudi-backed LIV Golf series.
Tony Finau claims second straight PGA Tour victory
The American won the 3M Open in his previous outing.
Henrik Stenson cushions Ryder Cup blow with £3.6m debut win in LIV Golf
The Swede was stripped of his role as Europe captain after joining the Saudi-backed breakaway tour.
Former Masters champion Bubba Watson becomes latest player to join LIV Golf
The left-hander is currently sidelined by a knee injury and is not expected to play until next season,
Luke Donald tipped to replace Henrik Stenson as Europe’s Ryder Cup captain
The Swede lost the job 127 days after his appointment following his decision to join the LIV Golf series.
Max Homa: Tiger Woods now understands the respect he commands from his peers
Homa has made no secret of his admiration for Woods.
Bernard Gallacher fears Greg Norman is not the man for compromise with LIV Golf
Players who have resigned from the PGA Tour to join LIV Golf will not be eligible for next year’s Ryder Cup.
Brooke Henderson takes two-shot lead into final round of Evian Championship
South Korea’s Ryu So-yeon climbed into outright second place on 15 under.