Kiwi Ko wins rookie award

Lydia Ko of New Zealand has become the youngest player to win the LPGA Tour’s rookie of the year award.

The 17-year-old who was born in Seoul, South Korea, secured the points-based award with three tournaments remaining on the LPGA Tour schedule.

Ko has two victories, two runner-up finishes and nine other finishes in the top 10 to shof for her efforts this year.

The previous record for the youngest LPGA rookie of the Year winner was Laura Baugh who at 18-years of age win the award in 1973.

Ko is currently ranked third in the LPGA world rankings and sits fourth on the LPGA Tour money list.

She has just over USD1.5 million going into the Lorena Ochoa Invitational this week in Mexico.