Hat-trick of awards for Stenson

There is just no end to Henrik Stenson’s brilliant 2013 season with the Swede scooping the European Tour’s Golfer of the Month award for November.

It is the third time that the world number four has won the award this year as he was also voted the best in August and September.

His latest success comes on the back of his victory at the season-ending DP World Tour Championship on November 17, which also earned him the Race to Dubai crown in the process, while he also finished tied seventh in the Turkish Airlines Open that was won by Victor Dubuisson.

He is only the second player, after Ian Woosnam in 1987, to win in the European Tour Golfer of the Year three times in a year.

“It’s very pleasing to win the award again. I have to say I am a little surprised to have beaten Victor because of his win in Turkey and then backing it up with a good performance in Dubai but that is not for me to judge. I am certainly not complaining,” he told europeantour.com

“It is very flattering to win these awards and I suppose to win three of them in the same season just shows once again that this has been a dream year for me.

“Winning the DP Word Tour Championship the way I did to win The Race to Dubai overall was very special obviously, and to be the only guy to have won The Race to Dubai and FedEx Cup in the same year is something I might never get the chance to do again so I was so happy to be able to take that chance.”

James Haddock, Golf Correspondent of Sky Sports, said: “The pressure on Henrik to continue to perform at the business end of the year was immense. First he showed his resilience to keep his nose in front in Turkey then the sublime way he went through the week in Dubai was hugely impressive especially given his wrist injury and the mental pressure involved.”

Golfers of the Month for 2013
January: Chris Wood
February: Darren Fichardt
March: Marcel Siem
April: Rafael Jacquelin
May: Matteo Manassero
June: Justin Rose
July: Graeme McDowell
August Henrik Stenson
September: Henrik Stenson
October: Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
November: Henrik Stenson