European trio handed Open berths

Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Pablo Larrazabal and Shane Lowry have been confirmed in the field for the Open Championship at Hoylake.

The trio is the top players within the top 20 of the European Tour’s season-long points standings who aren’t already exempt.

The cut-off for qualification thanks to position in the Race to Dubai was at last week’s BMW International Open.

Kevin Na and Brendon Todd were also added to the 156-man field thanks to similar qualification policies in the FedEx Cup.

Cabrera-Bello lost in a play-off for the BMW International title on Sunday and will be making his third appearances at the Open.

Lowry will also be playing in the season’s third major for the third time, while Larrazabal has been awarded a place in the field on four previous occasions.

Earlier, the Associated Press reported that Brooks Koepka, K.J. Choi, Charles Howell III and Fredrik Jacobson should also be included in the field based on their positions in the alternate list.

This week’s tournaments on the PGA and European Tours – the Greenbrier Classic and French Open respectively – form part of the new Open Qualification Series, which awards Open berths to players in the top 12 who aren’t exempt already.