Broberg wins BMW Masters

Sweden's Kristoffer Broberg won the BMW Masters title in Shanghai on Sunday after beating the USA's Patrick Reed in a play-off.

Reed shot a final round 67 and Broberg carded a 68 to finish tied for first on 17-under par 271 at the Lake Malaren Golf Club.

The Swede needed just one extra hole to claim his first European Tour title, notching up another birdie as Reed was only able to make par.

"His short game was unbelievable all day. I'm playing really good the front nine and I was struggling a bit, a little nervous on the last few holes. The four last holes I was really, really nervous," Broberg told the European Tour website.

"I get to the play-off and I saw him hit it right. And I hit it a really good drive on the left side and thought, 'here is my chance, I want to get by the trap'. I hit a good nine iron up to four or five metres from the hole and was so happy."

In a tie one shot behind were, Dane Lucas Bjerregaard (70), South Korean An Byeong-hun (70), Thailand's Thongchai Jaidee (71), who was the overnight leader, and Sweden's Henrik Stenson (68).

The top final round scores: 

271 (17-under par) – Kristoffer Broberg (SWE) 69-70-64-68, Patrick Reed (US) 71-69-64-67 

272 – Thongchai Jaidee (THA) 67-68-66-71, Lucas Bjerregaard (DEN) 66-66-70-70, Henrik Stenson (SWE) 68-71-65-68, An Byeong-Hun (KOR) 65-71-66-70

273 – Paul Casey (ENG) 67-69-68-69, Justin Rose (ENG) 67-67-72-67

274 – Julien Quesne (FRA) 70-69-69-66, Soren Kjeldsen (DEN) 72-67-71-64

275 – Sergio Garcia (ESP) 64-71-67-73, Ian Poulter (ENG) 68-68-68-71

276 – Thomas Pieters (BEL) 71-71-63-71, Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG) 68-71-67-70, Marcus Fraser (AUS) 70-70-65-71, Ross Fisher (ENG) 66-71-67-72

277 – David Howell (ENG) 69-71-69-68, Victor Dubuisson (FRA) 65-73-68-71, Andy Sullivan (ENG) 74-71-67-65, Francesco Molinari (ITA) 68-70-69-70, Scott Hend (AUS) 69-73-68-71

279 – Chris Wood (ENG) 70-69-70-70, Branden Grace (RSA 71-71-69-68

280 – Emiliano Grillo (ARG) 71-70-74-65, Graeme Storm (ENG) 72-72-69-67, Trevor Fisher Jnr (RSA) 71-71-69-69, Bernd Wiesberger (AUT) 71-69-70-70

281 – Peter Uihlein (USA) 71-66-72-72, Danny Willett (ENG) 72-69-70-70, Alexander Levy (FRA) 73-76-63-69