Watery end for Lefty’s ranking bid

European Tour

Phil Mickelson’s latest chance to snatch the World No 1 spot from Tiger Woods has met a watery end.

Phil Mickelson’s latest chance to snatch the World No 1 spot from Tiger Woods has met a watery end in the second round of the Barclays Scottish Open at Loch Lomond today.
The Masters champion, who needs a top-two finish to be able to call himself the sport’s greatest current player for the first time in his career, came to the 455-yard 18th – the ninth hole of his second round – on level par.
But he left it five over par, 12 shots behind leader Darren Clarke and on course to miss the halfway cut.
During a heavy downpour Mickelson blasted his drive into the water down the left side of the fairway and then did the same with his next attempt.
Television commentator – and former winner of the title – Wayne Riley told Mickelson that the second ball was actually playable, but the left-hander apparently had not declared the third to be a provisional and under the rules of golf had to play it.
Even if he does not make it through to the weekend he will have another opportunity to reach number one in The Open at St Andrews next week.
But Woods will also be in action there and he has won the past two championships at the Home of Golf by eight and five strokes.

Latest