US trio lead in Las Vegas

Tom Pernice Jnr, Troy Matteson and Spencer Levin are locked in a first-round, three-way tie for the lead in Las Vegas.

The American trio of Tom Pernice Jnr, Troy Matteson and Spencer Levin were locked in a three-way tie for the lead at the end of the first round of the Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open at TPC Summerlin in Las Vegas on Thursday.
Fifty-year-old Pernice, a winner on the Champions Tour at the SAS Championship last month, laid down the gauntlet with a bogey-free nine-under-par 62 and was then joined in a share of the overnight lead by Matteson, the 2006 winner, who fired 10 birdies and an eagle.
“I got off to a really good start, which was nice, and continued to have a really good round,” Pernice told reporters.
“Good, quality irons,” he said, “really set it up. The iron shots really were the key. And the conditions are obviously perfect here.”
Levin joined the party at the top of the leaderboard late in the day, seven birdies and an eagle ensuring the 25-year-old Californian enjoyed a career-best round on the PGA Tour.
His previous best – a 63 – came earlier this year in Milwaukee.
Scotland’s Martin Laird – the only non-US player inside the top 12 here – and Bob Heintz were locked in a tie for fourth place, a shot further back on the leaders while three-time Las Vegas winner Jim Furyk recovered from two early bogeys to fire a 64 and claim a share of sixth place alongside Scott Piercy.
“It was a slow start, but I don’t know if it was a rough start,” Furyk said.
“You just have to stay patient. A lot of it is your mental frame.
“I was one-under par after eight holes today. I really got it going, making a nice birdie on 18. I then hit it close on one, two, three and four and was able to birdie those holes.”
Tim Petrovic, Jeff Klauk, Kirk Triplett, Briny Baird and Robert Garrigus finished the opening round at six under par.
(USA unless stated, par 71):

62 Spencer Levin, Troy Matteson, Tom Pernice Jnr.
63 Martin Laird (Sco), Bob Heintz
64 Jim Furyk, Scott Piercy
65 Jeff Klauk, Kirk Triplett, Robert Garrigus, Tim Petrovic, Briny Baird
66 Jerry Kelly, Charley Hoffman, Brian Gay, Greg Chalmers (Aus), David Toms, Matt Kuchar, Greg Owen (Eng), Alex Cejka (Ger), Aaron Baddeley (Aus), George McNeill, Fredrik Jacobson (Swe), Jay Williamson, Jason Bohn
67 Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind), Kyle Stanley, Ted Purdy, Parker McLachlin, Nick O’Hern (Aus), Mark Wilson, Chad Campbell, Aaron Watkins, Brett Quigley, Dean Wilson, Rickie Fowler, Ryan Moore
68 Bill Lunde, Jeff Quinney, Billy Mayfair, Steve Lowery, Tommy Armour III, Steve Marino, Ben Crane, Nathan Green (Aus), Paul Goydos, Roland Thatcher, Andres Romero (Arg), Bo Van Pelt, Johnson Wagner, Matt Weibring
69 Nick Watney, Michael Bradley, Harrison Frazar, Kevin Sutherland, Heath Slocum, Charles Howell III, Daniel Chopra (Swe), Nicholas Thompson, Brendon De Jonge, Chris Stroud, Chris DiMarco, Kevin Streelman, Brian Bateman, D.A. Points, Rich Beem, Carl Pettersson (Swe), Tim Clark (Rsa), Brandt Snedeker
70 Patrick Moore, Scott McCarron, Tag Ridings, Woody Austin, Chez Reavie, Steve Elkington (Aus), Hunter Mahan, J.B. Holmes, Cameron Beckman, Ryuji Imada (Jpn), Glen Day, Bryce Molder, Jonathan Byrd, Stuart Appleby (Aus)
71 Jeff Overton, John Merrick, Joe Ogilvie, David Duval, Jarrod Lyle (Aus), J J Henry, Mathew Goggin (Aus), Mark Calcavecchia, Craig Barlow, David Mathis, Ken Duke, D.J. Trahan
72 Aron Price (Aus), Vaughn Taylor, John Mallinger, Will MacKenzie, Marc Turnesa, Stephen Ames (Can), Kent Jones, Rory Sabbatini (Rsa), Steve Flesch, Cliff Kresge, Peter Lonard (Aus), Ricky Barnes, Brad Faxon, Richard S Johnson (Swe), Anthony Kim, Rocco Mediate
73 Michael Letzig, Brian Davis (Eng), Chris Riley, Casey Wittenberg, Eric Axley, Webb Simpson, Jeff Maggert, Ryan Palmer
74 Nick Jones, Bill Haas, Tim Herron, Davis Love III, Wes Weston, Greg Kraft
75 Marc Leishman (Aus), Jimmy Walker, Todd Hamilton, Ernie Gonzalez
77 Matt Bettencourt
78 Alex Aragon
88 Leif Olson