Tour finale gets new name, new logo

The PGA Tour have announced the introduction of a new name and logo for their annual tour-end FedExCup finale.

The PGA Tour have announced the introduction of a new name and logo for their annual tour-end FedExCup finale.

The tournament, previously known as the Tour Championship will now be called the ‘Tour Championship by Coca-Cola’ and will feature the top 30 players from the FedExCup race after the end-of-season play-offs.

It will be played for the 11th consecutive year at historic East Lake Golf Club from September 21-25, the Tour confirmed.

The updated logo and name are part of The Coca-Cola Company’s and Southern Company’s six-year sponsorship renewal plan through to 2016.

Coca-Cola is the tournament’s presenting sponsor and Southern Company is the proud supporter. The logo features Coca-Cola’s iconic contour bottle alongside a golf ball, establishing a stronger visual link between Coca-Cola and the tournament.

“The Coca-Cola Company’s strong leadership in the Atlanta community continues to help grow the tournament which ultimately increases our ability to raise more money for charity,” said Todd Rhinehart, executive director of the Tour Championship event

“As we prepare to host the tournament at East Lake Golf Club for the 11th time, we believe this new logo symbolizes The Coca-Cola Company’s commitment to increasing the reach and impact of the culmination of the FedExCup, which will allow us to create a new on-site experience for our fans this September at East Lake.”

“Through our support of the East Lake Foundation we’ve helped to spread happiness in our own community by playing a role in refreshing a local Atlanta neighborhood that was in need of assistance,” said Sharon Byers, vice president, Marketing Assets, Coca-Cola North America.

“The Coca-Cola Company embraces the idea of living positively by making a difference in communities where we do business. Any time you make a difference in the local community, it’s special. It’s rewarding to know that Coca-Cola has directly helped to restore a formerly blighted neighborhood into thriving community and that we’ve positively affected the lives of the many young people in the area.”

Luke Donald currently leads the FedExCup standings with Bubba Watson, Matt Kuchar, Mark Wilson and Phil Mickelson also in the top five. Jim Furyk took home the FedExCup in 2010, while Tiger Woods won the title in 2009 and the inaugural FedExCup in 2007. Vijay Singh won the title in 2008.