Lee grouped with Lefty at Sheshan

Lee Westwood, in his first tournament as the World No 1, will tee off alongside Phil Mickelson at the WGC-HSBC champions.

Lee Westwood, in his first tournament as the World No 1, will tee off in this week’s WGC-HSBC champions alongside defending champion Phil Mickelson

The third member of this stellar group is YE Yang who became Asia’s first Major winner with his triumph at last year’s US PGA Championship.

Somewhat ironically, Mickelson, the reigning Masters champion, was, for much of the season, the man most pundits believed would replace embattled Tiger Woods at the top of the World Rankings list.

But his bid seemed to be jinxed.

He simply could never find his best form in any of the 12 tournaments that put him with range of Tiger’s throne and in one of the poorer spells of his career, has fallen back from World No 2 to No 4 behind Westwood, Woods and German young gun Martin Kaymer, the current US PGA Champion.

Woods, who has made it clear that he is hoping to spark a big career turn-around at Sheshan International in Shanghai this week, has been grouped with in-form Graeme McDowell, who on Sunday added the Andalucia Valderrama Masters to his US Open title, and Ernie Els, another major winner who is in form right now.

Westwood, in the meantime, won’t be able to relax and enjoy his new status at the top of the tree.

Woods, Mickelson and Kaymer are all in with a shot of ripping away his newly-earned ranking this weekend.

Note: Times listed are local

<1st Tee

08:50 Jason Bohn, Richie Ramsay, Andrew Dodt
09:00 Bill Lunde, Darren Fichardt Thaworn Wiratchant
09:10 Pablo Martin, Marcus Fraser, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
09:20 Katsumasa Miyamoto, Michael Sim, Carl Pettersson
09:30 Simon Khan, Richard Green, Michio Matsumura
09:40 Stuart Appleby, Ryann Palmer, Matteo Manassero
09:50 Heath Slocum, Shigeki Maruyama, Anders Hansen
10:00 Fredrik Andersson Hed, Chao Li, Bill Haas
10:10 Alistair Presnell, Richard SJohnson, PariyaJunhasavasdikul
10:20 Atwal Arjun Hiratsuka Tetsuji Davies Rhys
10:30 Hao Yuan, Jaco Van Zyl, Shunsuke Sonoda
10:40 Grégory Bourdy, Danny Willett, Mamat Mardan
10:50 Brendan Jones, Wu Kang-Chun, David Horsey

10Th Tee

08:45 Anthony Kim, Robert Allenby, Edoardo Molinari
08:55 Padraig Harrington, LouisOosthuizen, Yuta Ikeda
09:05 Rory Mcilroy, Retief Goosen, Liang Wen-Chong
09:15 Ian Poulter, Nick Watney, Ryo Ishikawa
09:25 Tiger Woods, Graeme Mcdowell, Ernie Els
09:35 Paulo Casey, Hunter Mahan, Martin Kaymer
09:45 YE Yang, Phil Mickelson, Lee Westwood
09:55 Henrik Stenson, Alvaro Quiros, Rickie Fowler
10:05 Noh Seung-Yul, Peter Hanson, Adam Scott
10:15 Charl Schwartze, Robert Karlsson, Hiroyuki Fujita
10:25 Ben Crane, Kim Kyung-Tae, Francesco Molinari
10:35 KJ Choi Ross Fisher, Camilo Villegas
10:45 Miguel Angel Jiménez Tim Clark, Luke Donald