Late Lefty penalised two shots
Phil Mickelson narrowly avoided disqualification from the Barclays Singapore Open during the storm-hit final round
Phil Mickelson narrowly avoided disqualification from the Barclays Singapore Open after a misunderstanding during a weather delay in the final round.
The left-hander, who closed out a third-round 75 with an ugly quadruple-bogey eight on Saturday, was midway through his final round when play was suspended due to approaching storms.
The American then returned to his hotel under the impression that play had been abandoned for the day.
But he had to rush back to the Sentosa Golf Club when officials announced that the tournament would resume after a five-and-a-half hour delay.
Mickelson arrived after the klaxon had sounded to signal the resumption, and he will receive a two-shot penalty once he has completed his final round on Monday.
“He arrived just after the klaxon had gone for the restart so unfortunately he was late and as a result he was given a two-stroke penalty,” said European Tour chief referee John Paramor.
“However, he avoided disqualification because he arrived within five minutes.
“We believe that he heard something from someone in the club, which led him to believe that play had been called for the day.
“However it certainly was not one of the officials of the golf tournament. It is unfortunate, but it was just a misunderstanding.”
England’s Charley Hull triumphs in Texas to end six-year wait for LPGA title
The victory was the 26-year-old’s first on the LPGA Tour since prevailing at the CME Group Tour Championship in November 2016.
Ryan Fox remembers Shane Warne after St Andrews success
The New Zealander secured his third DP World Tour title in front of his family with a one-shot victory at the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.
Romain Langasque equals course record to lead Alfred Dunhill Links Championship
The Frenchman recovered from an early bogey with two eagles and eight birdies to reach 11 under par.
Rory McIlroy bemoans ‘ugly year’ and seeks solution to divide in golf world
The arrival of Saudi-backed LIV Golf series has fractured the game in 2022.
On this day in 2014 – Europe retain Ryder Cup with Gleneagles victory
The Gleneagles victory was Europe’s eighth win in 10 matches.
‘Is this where I am going to die?’ Nicolas Colsaerts on kidney disorder battle
The Belgian is the focus of attention this week as he belatedly defends the Cazoo Open de France title he won three years ago.
On this day in 2008: Ryder Cup misery in Louisville for Nick Faldo’s Europe team
Faldo was heavily criticised for his tactics in the closing singles.
Open champion Cameron Smith wins first LIV trophy in just second start
The world number two is the highest-ranked player to join the rebel series.
Robert MacIntyre beats Matt Fitzpatrick in play-off to win Italian Open
MacIntyre birdied the first extra hole at Marco Simone Golf and Country Club, the venue for next year’s Ryder Cup.
Matt Fitzpatrick holds narrow lead ahead of final round at Italian Open
Rory McIlroy and Aaron Rai are one shot off the pace.