June winner is R-Mac – who else?

It could not have been anyone else. Rory McIlroy has been named 2011 Race to Dubai Golfer for June.

As was expected, Rory McIlroy has been named 2011 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer for June following his sensational win at the US Open last month.

The 22-year-old Northern Ireland star’s eight-shot victory at the Congressional Country Club saw him post the lowest winning score (268) in the Championship’s history by an incredible four strokes as he became the youngest winner of the title since Bobby Jones in 1923.

McIlroy, who receives an engraved alms dish and a jeroboam of Mo√ęt & Chandon champagne for winning the Golfer of the Month award, has moved to third place in The 2011 Race to Dubai and is now hot on the heels of the two men ahead of him – World Number One Luke Donald and Masters Champion Charl Schwartzel.

“It is always nice to win any award for playing good golf but this Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Month has to go down as an extra special one given that I won the award for my performance at Congressional.

“I hope this will not be the first Golfer of the Month Award I receive after winning a Major Championship!”

In much the same way as his US Open victory left the rest of the field playing for second place, McIlroy has left the other candidates for the June Golfer of the Month award coughing in his dust.

Despite the outstanding performances of Alex Noren in winning the SAAB Wales Open; Robert Rock at the BMW Italian Open, Matthew Zions at the Saint Omer Open presented by Neuflize OBC; Pablo Larrazabal at the BMW International Open and Fredrik Jacobsen at the Travellers Championship on the PGA Tour, there was always going to be only one winner of the June Award.

McIlroy joins a standout list of Race to Dubai Golfer of the Month winners, following Martin Kaymer (January), Luke Donald (February and May), Paul Lawrie (March) and Charl Schwartzel (April).

McIlroy will now join his fellow award winners to be considered for The 2011 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Year Award, which was shared by Graeme McDowell and Kaymer last year.