If you are looking to follow the big guns, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Adam Scott, in Thursday 1st round of the US Open, be early.

If you are looking to follow the big guns, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Adam Scott, in Thursday 1st round of the US Open, you’d better get to Torrey Pines early.
The World Nos 1,2 and 3 will be going off the first at 08h06 (local time) and with another group of top-end World Rankers, Ernie Els (No 4), Geoff Ogilvy (No 5) and Justin Rose, Europe’s highest ranked golfer at No 6, only teeing-off from the 10th at 13h36, you should have time for a quick bite before getting back on to Torrey Pine’s spectacular cliff-side South Course again for an afternoon tour with another three of the world best golfers.
There is another afternoon alternative that could be interesting.
Trevor Immelman, the 2008 Masters champion and first major winner this year, has also been given a slot off the first – but it’s another latish one in the afternoon.
He’ll tee off at 13h03 with fellow Masters winners Zack Johnson and Mike Weir – just in front of two-time US Open winner Retief Goosen, Scott Verplank and Aaron BAddeley and just behind the man some call the best golfer never to have won a major, Sergio Garcia.
The Spaniard is grouped with Stewart Cink and Vijay Singh
(USA unless stated, all times Local – (x) denotes amateurs)
Starting at hole 1
0700 Patrick Sheehan, D.A. Points, David Hearn (Can)
0711 Kyle Stanley, Casey Wittenberg, Hunter Haas
0722 Tway Kevin, Jason Bohn, Dean Wilson
0733 Fredrik Jacobson (Swe), Jeff Wilson, Brett Quigley
0744 Rickie Fowler, Chris Kirk, Dustin Johnson
0755 Oliver Wilson (Gbr), Mark Calcavecchia, Joe Ogilvie
0806 Phil Mickelson, Adam Scott (Aus), Tiger Woods
0817 Lee Janzen, Steve Flesch, Rich Beem
0828 Jesper Parnevik (Swe), Michael Campbell (Nzl), Todd Hamilton
0839 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), Boo Weekley, Shingo Katayama (Jpn)
0850 Anthony Kim, Andres Romero (Arg), Ryuji Imada (Jpn)
0901 Mike Gilmore, Jordan Cox, Brian Kortan
0912 Jeffrey Bors, Sean English, Travis Bertoni
1230 Jon Mills (Can), DJ Brigman, Jarrod Lyle (Aus)
1241 Nick Taylor (Can), Charlie Beljan, Rob Rashell
1252 Sergio Garcia (Spa), Stewart Cink, Vijay Singh (Fij)
1303 Trevor Immelman (Rsa), Zach Johnson, Mike Weir (Can)
1314 Retief Goosen (Rsa), Scott Verplank, Aaron Baddeley (Aus)
1325 Stephen Ames (Can), Robert Allenby (Aus), Ben Curtis
1336 Angel Cabrera (Arg), Padraig Harrington (Irl), Davis Love III
1347 Bubba Watson, Brett Wetterich, J.B. Holmes
1358 Brandt Snedeker, Jonathan Byrd, Nick Dougherty (Gbr)
1409 Ross Fisher (Gbr), Steve Marino, Michael Letzig
1420 Brandt Jobe, Phillip Archer (Gbr), Jason Gore
1431 Bobby Collins, Jay Choi (Kor), Kevin Silva
1442 Bob Gaus, Philippe Gasnier (Bra), Garrett Chaussard
Starting at hole 10
0700 Peter Tomasulo, Robert Garrigus, Craig Barlow
0711 Derek Fathauer, Scott Piercy, Justin Hicks
0722 KJ Choi (Kor), Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker
0733 Rocco Mediate, Michael Thompson, Brad Bryant
0744 Craig Parry (Aus), Robert Karlsson (Swe), Tim Clark (Rsa)
0755 Jerry Kelly, Stuart Appleby (Aus), Lee Westwood (Gbr)
0806 Pat Perez, Woody Austin, Thomas Levet (Fra)
0817 Matt Kuchar, Mathew Goggin (Aus), Nick Watney
0828 Heath Slocum, Rodney Pampling (Aus), Niclas Fasth (Swe)
0839 Carl Pettersson (Swe), Soren Hansen (Den), Daniel Chopra (Swe)
0850 Johan Edfors (Swe), Eric Axley, Ben Crane
0901 Joey Lamielle, Michael Quagliano, Fernando Figueroa (Svk)
0912 Yohann Benson (Can), Chris Devlin (NIrl), Brian Bergstol
1230 Michael Allen, Jon Turcott, Scott Sterling
1241 Artemio-hiromasa Murakami (Phi), Robert Dinwiddie (Sco), Kevin Streelman
1252 Bart Bryant, Chad Campbell, D.J. Trahan
1303 Richard Sterne (Rsa), Hunter Mahan, Sean O’Hair
1314 Ian Poulter (Gbr), Paul Casey (Gbr), Luke Donald (Gbr)
1325 Toru Taniguchi (Jpn), John Rollins, Henrik Stenson (Swe)
1336 Justin Rose (Gbr), Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Ernie Els (Rsa)
1347 Camilo Villegas (Col), Charles Howell III, Martin Kaymer (Ger)
1358 Justin Leonard, Mark O’Meara, Jeff Quinney
1409 Rory Sabbatini (Rsa), David Toms, Colin Montgomerie (Sco)
1420 John Mallinger, John Merrick, Alastair Forsyth (Sco)
1431 Ross McGowan (Gbr), Ian Leggatt (Can), Chris Stroud
1442 John Ellis, Jimmy Henderson, Andrew Dresser