Donald sitting pretty atop Dubai table

Luke Donald was still sitting atop the Race to Dubai standings on Monday – despite not having played at Crans-sur-Sierre.

World No 1 Luke Donald was still sitting on top of the Race to Dubai Standings this Monday morning – despite not having played at Crans-sur-Sierre at the weekend.

Donald is currently among the front runners in the chasing pack in the Deutsche Bank Championship at the TPC Boston and regardless of where he finishes there this Monday and regardless of how much money he earns it will help only to boost his position on the US PGA Tour’s FedEx Cup play-off standings and do nothing for him on the Race to Dubai Table.

Although US-based Donald is currently playing most of his golf in the States, his great consistency in the majors and WGC events, which count towards both tours, have done enough before this past weekend’s European Masters at Crans-Sur-Sierre to ensure he would hold his first place on the Race To Dubai.

With a total of €3, 778.100, he is all of €1,739,316 ahead of second-place Rory McIlroy, the reigning US Open Champion, and €1 755 848 in front of third-placed Charl Schwartzel, the 2011 Masters winner.

Donald is even further ahead of fellow Englishman, Lee Westwood, the World No 2, and German Martin Kaymer, last year’s PGA Champion, but before the end of the season it’s quite possible for either of these two along with McIlroy to overtake him.

For while he and Schwartzel will be putting all their efforts in the next couple of weeks into earning FedEx Cup points in the US which won’t count a jot in Europe, their three biggest Race To Dubai rivals will be on the right side of the big pond going after points that really will count in the countdown to the Dubai Championship.

The top 20 money winners (in Euros) on the Race to Dubai standings after Sunday’s Omega European Masters won by Thomas Born at Crans-sur-Sierre in the Swiss Alps are as follows:

1 Luke Donald (En) 3778199.00
2 Rory McIlroy (NIrl) 2038794.00
3 Charl Schwartzel (Rsa) 2023252.00
4 Martin Kaymer (Ger) 1873115.00
5 Lee Westwood (Eng) 1837431.00
6 Anders Hansen (Den) 1601207.00
7 Thomas Bjorn (Den) 1381444.00
8 Darren Clarke (NIrl) 1346160.00
9 Alexander Noren (Swe) 1015235.00
10 Simon Dyson (Eng) 998904.00
11 Pablo Larrazabal (Spa) 935229.00
12 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa) 893280.00
13 Alvaro Quiros (Spa) 879937.00
14 Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel) 839071.00
15 Ian Poulter (Eng) 805369.00
16 Y.E. Yang (Kor) 751592.00
17 Sergio Garcia (Spa) 747418.00
18 Francesco Molinari (Ita) 744103.00
19 Matteo Manassero (Ita) 741087.00
20 Thomas Aiken (Rsa) 720681.00