Davies rues putter misses

Home

Brian Davis was ruing missed chances with his putter on Sunday, rather than the penalty he called on himself.

Brian Davis was ruing the chances he missed with his putter rather than the penalty he called on himself at the Verizon Heritage where a maiden US PGA Tour victory once more eluded him.
Davis saw victory slip from his grasp at the first hole of a sudden-death play-off with Jim Furyk at Harbour Town Golf Links on Hilton Head Island when he made contact with a loose impediment during his backswing while playing out of a hazard area.
The Englishman notified rules officials of the infraction and was handed a two-stroke penalty, giving American world number six Furyk, who holed his par putt, his second PGA Tour title in a month.
Davis felt he should have sewn up the victory on the back nine of regulation play, but was left to reflect on his bogeys at the 15th and 16th holes and a missed birdie putt on 17, although he did rally with an outstanding birdie putt at the last to force the play-off.
“I’ve got to learn from that and make a couple of putts on the back nine, that’s what makes a champion,” said Davis.
“It was tough coming down the stretch. It was windy today, playing really tough.
“I missed a couple of key putts at 15 and 16.
The one at 15 was a good putt, 16 wasn’t a bad one, I just misread it. I had a chance on 17 as well.
“It then came down to 18, and I made an unbelievable second shot and obviously I made the putt. It was great getting in the play-off, but it was a disappointment (not to win).”
The 35-year-old Londoner also revealed that, despite challenging for victory, he had been struggling with his swing all week.
“Considering the way I felt this week, I’ve had no control over my swing, it’s been one of the weirdest weeks ever,” Davis said.
“I didn’t feel comfortable on the golf course, but was still hitting shots and still getting it done.”
Of calling the penalty on himself, Davis said there had been no dilemma.
“If I had thought I hadn’t (committed an infraction) then I wouldn’t have called it.
“I knew about the rule. When we looked at it, I didn’t think it was an issue. I thought the hole would be over the top of it.
“And obviously when I took the club away, I took it lower and obviously just grazed the thing.
“It’s one of those things where there’s a bunch where the weeds were piled up together, and it’s stuck in the ground, but it’s not fixed, it’s a loose impediment. So it’s classified as sand, it’s not actually fixed in the swing, and he (PGA rules chief Slugger White) said it was a two-shot penalty, and that’s that.”

Latest