Cook wins in Montreal

John Cook has won his third Champions Tour title of the year at the Montreal Championship in Quebec.

John Cook won his third Champions Tour title of the year at the Montreal Championship in Quebec on Sunday when he charged to a tournament-record 21-under 195 total.

Cook, the runner-up last year here at Fontainebleau Golf Club, closed a second successive 66 to beat Taiwan’s overnight leader Lu Chien-soon (70) by three strokes.

Joey Sindelar (68) was third on 17 under, while Bill Glasson (64), Corey Pavin (67) and Dan Forsman (68) finished a further stroke back in joint 4th place.

Canadian Rod Spittle, who began the round in a tie for 49th, broke the course record with a 62 to finish at 15-under, another shot off the pace, in a much improved 7th place.

“I thought 20 would have a good chance,” Cook said. “I got off to a great start and that kind of let me then relax a little bit and go ahead and swing freely because 20 was my number that I thought was going to have a good chance.

Cook also won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship in Hawaii in January and topped Jay Don Blake in a playoff in the Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am in Florida in April.

Cook now has eight victories on the 50-and-over tour after winning 11 times on the premier US PGA TOUR.

“To win coming from behind and win from being ahead, it’s two different animals, really,” Cook said.

“Mr. Lu did a nice job and he kind of got things going on the back side there and made some beautiful birdies coming down the stretch. He just battled all day and he wasn’t giving up.”

Spittle, from Niagara Falls, Ontario, began the round in a tie for 49th.

“I expect to win sometimes this year and this is just a great boost of confidence,” Spittle said.

Top 10 Leaderboard
195 John Cook 63 66 66
198 Chien-Soon Lu (Tpe) 65 63 70
199 Joey Sindelar 65 66 68
200 Dan Forsman 65 67 68, Corey Pavin 66 67 67, Bill Glasson 67 69 64
201 Rod Spittle (Can) 69 70 62, Jeff Sluman 65 67 69, Larry Mize 65 69 67
202 Chip Beck 67 67 68, John Huston 63 67 72, Joe Ozaki (Jpn) 71 66 65, Tom Lehman 67 66 69, Mike Goodes 69 68 65, Jay Haas 65 66 71