CIMB Classic field confirmed

The field for the only PGA Tour co-sanctioned event in Malaysia, the CIMB Classic, has been confirmed on Monday.

The field for the only PGA Tour co-sanctioned event in Malaysia – the CIMB Classic – is rounding into form, with 30 players from the PGA Tour and eight sponsor exemptions committing to play at Mines Resort & Golf Club on 25-28 October.

The 36 committed players from the PGA Tour, which includes six sponsors’ exemption, represent 128 PGA Tour victories.

The field is led by Tiger Woods, a 14-time major winner and a two-time FedExCup champion. Woods, who won three times in 2012 on the PGA Tour – at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, the Memorial Tournament and the AT&T National – will play in the CIMB Classic for the first time in his career.

Other winners from the 2012 PGA Tour season who are in the field include Jason Dufner (Zurich Classic of New Orleans and the HP Byron Nelson Championship), Carl Pettersson (RBC Heritage), Nick Watney (The Barclays), Scott Piercy (RBC Canadian Open), John Huh (Mayakoba Golf Classic), Kyle Stanley (Waste Management Phoenix Open), Rickie Fowler (Wells Fargo Championship), Bill Haas (Northern Trust Open),Marc Leishman (Travelers Championship) and Johnson Wagner (Sony Open in Hawaii).

In addition to the players who gained entry via the FedExCup, 2010 champion Ben Crane, 2008 Masters champion Trevor Immelman, Martin Laird, Sean O’Hair, Ricky Barnes, and Cameron Tringale all received sponsors’ exemptions into this year’s field.

The other two sponsors’ exemptions are Malaysians Danny Chia and Shaaban Hussin.

“We are excited about the strength and depth of field at this year’s CIMB Classic,” Executive Director Todd Rhinehart said.

“The 2012 PGA TOUR season has been as thrilling and competitive as I can remember with comeback victories, players winning multiple events and emerging new stars, many of whom will tee it up here in Malaysia. We look forward to watching these great players come to the Mines Resort & Golf Club for the third playing of the CIMB Classic,” he added
The confirmed players have combined for 131 top-10 finishes in 2012. Other notes on players above:

John Huh – The only PGA Tour rookie to reach the Tour Championship in 2012, thanks in part to his victory at the Mayakoba Golf Classic.

Jason Dufner – One of five players to win multiple times on the PGA Tour in 2012 with victories at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans and the HP Byron Nelson Championship.

Kyle Stanley – One week after losing a seven-stroke lead during the final round, came back from eight strokes to win the Waste Management Phoenix Open.

2011 CIMB Classic Champion Bo Van Pelt – Returns to the CIMB Classic after a successful 2012 in which he recorded 10 top-10 finishes and finished 22nd in the final FedExCup standings.

Sanctioned by the PGA Tour, Asian Tour and Professional Golf Association of Malaysia, the CIMB Classic 2012 will see a top class international field of 48 players competing for a US$6.1 million prize purse, with US$1.3-million going to the winner.

The tournament will feature 30 players from the PGA Tour and the top 10 available players from the Asian Tour’s Order of Merit.

Eight sponsor exemptions will make up the rest of the field, with two places reserved for Malaysian professionals. There will be no halfway cut for the event and as such all players will play all four days of golf.