Wiesberger fires season-best round to snatch Made in Denmark lead

Bernd Wiesberger is closing in on his fifth European Tour title after grabbing the lead at the Made in Denmark on Saturday.

The 33-year-old Austrian fired a four-under-par 67 in the third round at Himmerland Golf & Spa Resort to lead Scotland’s Robert Macintyre heading into the final day.


The lead was as big as three shots at one stage but a closing bogey saw him finish just one stroke ahead of his young Scottish rival at the end of the day.

Twenty-two-year-old Macintyre will go in hunt of his maiden European Tour title after a three-under 68 handed him solo second place.

“It’s something that I’ve always wanted to do – win on the European Tour,” he said. “Now that I’ve secured my card for next season, it gives me the freedom that there’s nothing to lose so I’ve just got to get out there and try and get it.”

Lying in third place are Germany’s Max Schmitt and another Austrian, Matthias Schwab. Schwab started the day with a one-shot lead but a one-over 72 left him two strokes back alongside Schmitt, who had a 68.

Just like Macintyre, Schwab and Schmitt are gunning for their first title in Europe, but have the inexperienced Wiesberger standing in their way.

Wiesberger, the most successful golfer ever to come out of Austria, missed seven months with a wrist injury last year, and has yet to record his first top-10 finish on the 2019 Race to Dubai.

He seems assured of at least that come Sunday, however, and potentially much better.


“I was very much in control of my ball, I hit a lot of good shots,” said the Austrian. “All in all it was a solid day, a good moving day for me.

“I feel like I’m in control of what I’m doing, I’m not trying to get ahead of myself, I’ll just stick to my processes.”

England’s Oliver Wilson (68), Spaniard Pablo Larrazabal (68) and Frenchman Roman Langasque (72) share fifth place on six under, one shot ahead of Matthew Southgate (69), Paul Dunne (70) and Alejandro Canizares (73).

All six players remain in the hunt for the title along with the four players ahead of them.